Ice Cream Wars: Old School vs. New School

18 Jun

So, my 10-year-old and I were in Wal-Mart the other day, on the ice cream aisle, and we got into somewhat of a heated argument. Which is better, the classic vanilla ice cream coated with a chocolate shell, or the new ice cream with so many flavor combinations, that they cannot possibly taste good?  What it boiled down to, was which is better: Old School or New School?

Ice Cream Wars: Old School vs. New School

I asked my son, why, why would he prefer Very Berry or Cotton Candy over the creamy goodness of vanilla and chocolate. His response was that the flavors are fun and that there were so many choices. So many choices? Too many choices if you ask me. Six flavors of ice cream, including the coveted “mystery flavor”, over 200 channels on TV, numerous game systems, kids have too many choices today.  Take me back to a simpler time, when there were only a few channels on TV, there was one video game system, and when my ice cream choices were vanilla, chocolate, or strawberry.

5 Responses to “Ice Cream Wars: Old School vs. New School”

  1. Mel June 3, 2012 at 12:04 am #

    You all must try new to North Carolina ‘Blue Bell’ ice cream, it is annointed! Lol! Especially the Krazy Kookie Dough and Homemade Vanilla flavors!

  2. Julie June 6, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    If it’s not chocolate it’s a waste of calories in my book!

    • Carleen at KidsWorkDinner.com June 6, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      LOL! While I am not a fan of chocolate ice cream, generally speaking, I have to agree with your chocolate observation!

      • Julie June 6, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

        It’s funny but I ALSO don’t like chocolate ice cream. It makes me thirsty! Blecch.

Leave a Reply

