Steak Tips & Gravy…Beef tips with a steaky twist

23 Feb

I love, love, love my slow cooker. I love the ease of “set it and forget it”. I especially love the way my house smells after something yummy had been in the slow cooker all day. I walk through the door and am welcomed by this wonderful aroma, the house feels warm, and somehow cozier, just because of that slow cooker. The icing on the cake is that I feel like someone else has cooked dinner for ME…what a welcome change! The only problem is that, in the past, I have only used my slow cooker to roast a whole chicken, or to make beef stew. I need to find more recipes.  Well today I used my slow cooker; I made ‘Steak Tip & Gravy’.

How is ‘Steak Tips & Gravy’ different from beef tips & gravy? Well, it is pretty much the same, except I added steak sauce to not only the slow cooker while the beef was cooking, but to the jar of gravy that I bought, and it tasted great! My 9-year-old was hesitant to try beef tips and gravy because he had it at school for lunch and did not want to try it. He does, however, LOVE steak, so I had a light bulb moment and it worked, he ate it all.

Steak Tips & Gravy - www.KidsWorkDinner.com

Steak Tips & Gravy

1 ½ lbs. beef tips

2 cups water

½ cup steak sauce

¼ cup Worcestershire sauce

1 onion, sliced

2 cups cooked rice

Salt

Pepper

Seasoning Salt or Mrs. Dash

1 jar beef gravy

¼ cup steak sauce
Season and brown the beef in a pan, then drain and transfer to the slow cooker. Add onions (I did not have an onion, so I used chopped dried onion), steak sauce, and Worcestershire sauce. I added more seasonings, but that is just how we like things. Cook on slow for 8-10 hours. Spoon beef onto cooked rice.

For the gravy: pour a jar of beef gravy in a small saucepan and add steak sauce to taste, about ¼ cup, depending on how much gravy you use.

Steak Tips & Gravy - www.KidsWorkDinner.com
The Verdict
‘Steak Tips & Gravy’ was a hit in my house. The beef was fork tender and the gravy really made the difference. Now, I need to find a recipe to make my own gravy.

What about you?
What are your favorite slow cooker dishes? Do you know a trick to use the slow cooker, without having the meat fall apart? Please share your ideas!

3 Responses to “Steak Tips & Gravy…Beef tips with a steaky twist”

  1. Bijee February 25, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    This looks great! If my family would eat beef, I would be ALL OVER IT!

  2. MiamiFlute July 16, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    Can’t wait to try this. I’m a slow cooker addict myself. 😀

    • Carleen at KidsWorkDinner.com July 16, 2012 at 9:31 am #

      Thanks for the comment! I love the ease of using the slow cooker, and I love the way it makes my kitchen smell…so cozy and homey!

Leave a comment